Since 2015, the Younger Expertise Competitors permits discovering the following technology of most proficient younger watchmakers on the earth, helps them of their path to independence by figuring out their achievements and placing them underneath the highlight. F.P.Journe organizes the Younger Expertise Competitors with the assist of The Hour Glass, a luxurious watch retailer within the Asia Pacific area. Each Maisons purpose to perpetuate and assist the artwork of haute horology and domesticate the appreciation of intensive horological craftsmanship.

Thomas Aubert Séléné watch front

The choice standards are based mostly on technical achievement, the seek for complexity of their realization, the standard of expertise in addition to their sense of design and aesthetics. Candidates should have independently designed and created a timepiece or horological building. The 2024 Younger Expertise Competitors winner receives a diploma and a CHF 50,000 grant from The Hour Glass and F.P.Journe, which is able to permit him to buy watchmaking instruments or finance an horological undertaking.

Thomas Aubert Séléné watch caseback

Thomas Aubert, 23, a graduate from the Lycée Edgar Faure in Morteau (France), gained the 2024 version along with his creation “Séléné”. He obtained his prize from Dr. Henry Tay – Founding father of The Hour Glass – and François-Paul Journe throughout a reception on the Manufacture with members of the jury and former winners who got here to encourage Thomas and share their experiences with him.

Thomas Aubert Séléné watch dial close-up

His college watch “Séléné”, created across the themes of curiosity and astronomy, contains a “non-dragging” animation on the again. When the watch is wound with a key, taking pictures stars begin to transfer, paying tribute to Séléné, the Greek goddess of the Moon whose title is synonymous with purity and brilliance.

Thomas Aubert Portrait

The jury of the Younger Expertise Competitors 2024 consists of key personalities from the worldwide horological scene: Philippe Dufour, Andreas Strehler, Giulio Papi, Marc Jenni, Michael Tay, Elizabeth Doerr and François-Paul Journe.


Pictures by FP Journe.